Skinny but weak

5 posts | Original | Recent

Image_thumb
2 Posts
Jan 9, 2015 9:13pm
via Android

I'm new to the gym, I've been a competitive swimmer and lifeguard but never worked out in a gym.
I'm looking for tips on building strength. I'm already under weight so I'm not trying to lose weight, I'm just so weak.
Any other skinny weak people have tips for me?
Thanks!

Grayshirtface_thumb
96 Posts
Jan 9, 2015 10:50pm

Building muscle is a simple process. You have to tear muscle tissue and provide the necessary nutrients to help it repair itself. So if you're going to a gym, lift heavy. Start small to work on your form, but then incrementally add weight so that you get to the point where you are actually building muscle.

Make sure you rest at least one day after strength training. And go for high weight with low (3-5 reps). Be sure to rest, drink plenty of water, and increase the amount of protein in your diet (to help rebuild your torn muscle tissue).

Good luck, you're going to be GREAT!

10 Jan
Excuse me, Jason... Just one question: is there a chance we can become stronger without it being visible? I mean, I'm working on strength but I don't seem to "bulk", is that OK? Yeah, proteins, I know... But my muscle can get stronger even without becoming bigger, can't they??
12 Jan
Hi Mihaela, the low rep (3-6) high weight increases strength but may not be visible. An example program I've done last year is alternating between high weight/low rep ranges then switching to lighter weight/higher rep ranges. It's a good way to keep increasing your personal bests and getting bigger more defined muscle. Power lifters tend to do 1 rep, max weight.
12 Jan
Thank you very much Scotty! I see I should switch different kind of training anyway to make my muscles work in new ways. Indeed my goal isn't to get bigger, it would be enough to become stronger and healthier (lol, it would be great!). Thank you for answering :)))))
12 Jan