Where is the burn?

5 posts | Original | Recent

Image_thumb
147 Posts
Aug 19, 2013 4:32pm
via iOS
So I have been lifting for alittle over a month now, when I started lifting I would be sore after every workout. Now, I notice there is barely any soreness or none at all after my workouts. I increase the weight 10 lbs every two weeks, if I am able to. I do 4-5 sets, 6-15 reps of max weight and pay close attention to my form until it becomes natural to me. I've heard the rumors go around that if your not sore after a workout, your not doing enough and you won't get the results. Is there truth behind this? If so, how do I get the workout and results I desire if I am already lifting all I can tolerate?
Icon_missing_thumb
1 Post
Aug 19, 2013 4:41pm
via Android

It's not true. The soreness goes away after a while - if you're using the same muscles over and over they get used to the exertion and don't complain anymore. Use muscle mass build-up as a technique to measure how well you're doing, and try switching up your workout once in a while to use different muscles.

20 Aug
Thank you for the advice. I do my best to switch up my workouts every 2 weeks along with the addition of weight. I try not to get stuck in a routine. I don't want my body to become accustomed to the same workout.
Icon_missing_thumb
111 Posts
Aug 19, 2013 4:49pm
via Android

I never got DOMS after working out. It would hit me 2 days later.

19 Aug
DOMS peak 36 hours after exercise
20 Aug
That is how it was for me at one point. When I first started lifting I was sore the very next day...then it happened 2 days after and now I barely feel anything. Some muscle groups I don't feel soreness at all for instance my biceps never get sore anymore.
Image_thumb
8 Posts
Aug 19, 2013 5:32pm
via Android

Are you going for strength our hypertrophy? If strength reps should only be 3-5 for 3-5 sets. If hypertrophy then reps are 6-10 for 3-5 sets.

20 Aug