Need Help with my doubts

6 posts | Original | Recent

10612802_1476122049335167_430630750133251345_n_thumb
4 Posts
Nov 29, 2014 6:37am
via Android

Hey all,
I'm a newbie. I used to do pushups once in a while for the past few years but it was so irregular that i didn't get any benefit out of it. I'm now 18 years old

Yesterday, i joined the college gym. But we don't have a trainer at the gym. I went there yesterday and did alternating bicep curls with 12.5 kg dumbells in both hands. I was worried whether i was doing it the right way and i forgot to count the reps i did. Anyway i'm sure i did it about 20 times in the first round and few less in the second, third nd fourth. We are not allowed to use the machines for the first 10 days.
Today morning, i went and did the same again.

I have few doubts :
One of my friends told not to start directly with dumbells, rather start with pushups and pull ups. After that, i tried to lift myself on the pull up bar but was in vain.
1. Is there any point in my friend's advice? Should i stop using dumbells and start with pushups and pull ups?
2. Can anyone give me few tips so that i can lift myself on the pull up bar?

I have seen white marks on the body of many people who go to gym. I guess it is because of stretching of skin.
3. Hav anyone got the same condition? If so, how does it happen??
4. If it happens, then is it likely to dissapear as time passes?
5. Is there any way to prevent such marks appearing on the skin?

Another doubt is that which is better?
6. Doing more reps with less weight or doing less reps with more weight? How does it affect the body?

Image_thumb
520 Posts
Nov 29, 2014 7:27am
via Android