How long before weight loss occurs?

2 posts | Original | Recent

Image_thumb
5 Posts
May 12, 2015 3:45pm
via iOS
I've been doing combat hapkido and kickboxing for 3 months. I had lost a few lbs in the beginning, then started putting on a little more. My clothes however fit differently so I assume it's muscle mass building. My question is when will the weight loss start coming and continue? Should I expect to stay at my current weight a while longer?
12 May
Have you changed eating habits?
12 May
I've always ate pretty healthy, not a junk food fan . I did just think about my hypothyroidism though and it could be a factor with weight loss.
13 May
Hey.. Weight loss always depends on how how hard you're working and how disciplined you're towards your goals. You need to understand if you feed your body to less, the body will stick on to the fat and eventually you'll not burn any cals but store them. And also, loosing weight might not mean that you're loosing all the fat. To get a good check on that, get your body fat percentage checked. And then figure out how much bf percentage you can reduce a week. That way set your goals and conquer them. In addition, you can also surf...
Image_thumb
953 Posts
May 12, 2015 4:05pm
via Android

I don't know what your level of effort in your hapkido class is, or the schedule (how frequently you go) or what you do outside of class, but if you haven't lost weight in 3 months and that is one of your goals, you should definitely make some additional changes.

It's difficult to lose weight on exercise alone, since we have a tendency to eat for maintenance or above... Even if you've switched to a healthier diet, it's easier than most ppl realize to continue to just consume too many calories.

You have probably built some muscle, and definitely conditioned your body somewhat, but you gotta push extremely hard if you want to lose weight through exercise alone.