Help! Newbie in troubles

2 posts | Original | Recent

Image_thumb
3 Posts
Jan 26, 2016 6:11am
via Android

Well I'm a newbie to everything related to a healthy lifestyle (not just the app). But being at 87 kg on my early 20's isn't exactly something a girl like me likes (being 1.70 mt). So I (finally) figured I had to make a change & started to workout a bit including some body combat & diet. Lost 2 kg in almost a month (85 kg now). Was so thrilled that everything was going as I planned. Then boom I got kidney stones, 3 different surgical procedures & 2 stents that left me in a painful way to recovery without being able to exercise, go to the gym or do much of an effort for some weeks. The diet went out the window as well, as I had all my favorite comfort foods (& more) anytime & I just fell back into the old habits (hello couch, I'm potato, nice to see you again).
Today I finally got the last stent removed & a green light from the doctor but as I caught myself snacking for the 3rd time on the huge loaf of still-hot-from-the-oven cheese bread, I realized I don't know where to begin again.
It was tough the first time around cuz I'm not a very disciplined person & words like "exercise" or "diet" in my family are just non-existent. Now I don't feel strong enough to jump right back to body combat (it was my favorite exercise cuz it actually made me excited & motivated to do it) & I'm just very demoralized by the time wasted & the whole medical experience (which also was quite expensive, so bye bye gym membership for now). I'd like to know does anybody have helpful tips they can share with me? Maybe about exercises that are helpful while recovering from a procedure, or maybe about what makes you get back in the horse when you are feeling down. Perhaps something about your favorite exercise or how you manage to stick to the routine you plan (that's really an issue for me ). Even advice about diet is helpful. Beforehand I really appreciate it & sorry for the long post.