Thought on flu vaccine?

6 posts | Original | Recent
60 Posts
Oct 17, 2013 3:06am
via Android

So..I had to get a flu shot for work due to..apparently its new health care law in new york for health care workers. I can see there point however I am completeley bummed because I got the shot last week..and have been out of work since monday with u guessed it..the flu :-( what is your take on getting the shot?

289 Posts
Oct 17, 2013 5:54am
via Android

I'm a med student. In the UK it's voluntary for healthcare staff to have the vaccine, but I had mine. I'm pro-vaccine. It's unlikely to benefit me (influenza rarely kills healthy young people like us) but it will benefit my patients who are elderly, frail, or sick (if I gave them the flu it could kill them).

So the arguement behind healthcare workers receiving vaccination is 'to improve herd immunity' or rather to protect the vulnerable from infection.

17 Oct
I do agree with you that it does benefit the patients. I guess from my stand point when I was working directly with patients I can see the need for getting the vaccine. Now i work in the billing and dont have that contact so I dont really see the point in getting the vaccination..its one of these new department of health regulations for all healthcare workers they are implementing in new york...going to be hard to get used to.
226 Posts
Oct 17, 2013 11:46am
via iOS