Should I lift weights at the gym with a bad back and spine?

7 posts | Original | Recent

Icon_missing_thumb
8 Posts
Jan 26, 2014 7:19am
via iOS

Whenever I go the gym, I tend to avoid the lifting weight exercises (using bars)

Should I be lifting weights or should I avoid it to prevent further injury to my back (I am short)

I was born with a bad spine  and no I am not injuried 

Thank you for the advice
26 Jan
You shouldn't lift weights because it could hurt your back
26 Jan
Doing some core work would help strengthen your spine and back making your posture a lot better when attempting to do weights. Don't lift really heavy weight its best to work on it, also when doing exercises please ask a personal trainer or a training buddy to spot u in case u have any trouble . Im a personal trainer self so that's what are there for
26 Jan
And too add us pts are not docs so if our injury gets worse please see our gp and physiotherapist
28 Jan
I have a workout I created called Back Stretch and Strengthen which I created from physical therapy sessions specific to my back injury. Every injury is different so the best thing would be to consult w a PT first. But in general, do resistance band and stretching exercises till you can handle light weights before you move to anything heavier, and if your back hurts the next day, dont do that exercise again (till you're stronger). Best luck!
Fullsizeoutput_9c0_thumb
667 Posts
Jan 26, 2014 10:06am
via iOS
Life light weights. Avoid picking heavy weights from the floor. Preferable to sit on an incline bench about 100 degrees bent. If you feel you backs starting to become troublesome take a break or try a new exercise!
Image_thumb
35 Posts
Jan 26, 2014 12:02pm
via Android

Do some light deadlifts and slowly increase weight in coming weeks. Strenghthen your lower back mind you I dont know the injury

Image_thumb
1023 Posts
Jan 26, 2014 3:47pm
via Android