Should I work out before or after breakfast?

12 posts | Original | Recent

Image_thumb
8 Posts
Jul 30, 2015 11:25am
via Android

Some say it's better to do your exercise on an empty stomach, yet others tell me I should eat something before starting a workout. Can somebody please clear this up for me? :)

Image_thumb
9 Posts
Jul 30, 2015 12:12pm
via Android

having done both im finding I prefer to eat a bit before. I just feel better during and after the workout. I admit though that i do have a second breakfast when i  get to work. maybe the answer is both?

Image_thumb
8 Posts
Jul 30, 2015 12:20pm
via Android

Alright, thank you!

Image_thumb
5 Posts
Jul 31, 2015 1:01pm
via Android

Depends, are you trying to loose or gain weight?

31 Jul
I'm trying to get rid of my muffin top :/
Image_thumb
166 Posts
Jul 31, 2015 1:07pm
via Android

I'm not an expert, but if you're looking to lose weight I think it's better to do cardio on an empty stomach. 

Personally, I prefer to eat first. 

Image_thumb
5 Posts
Jul 31, 2015 1:16pm
via Android

Light cardio i might add... HIIT or something brutal could make you dizzy

Image_thumb
5 Posts
Jul 31, 2015 10:55pm

Well that's fat loss then.

If you work out on an empty stomach (assuming no midnight snacks) then you won't have anywhere to get your energy from except your body fat so you'll burn the muffin tops. The down size is you'll have little energy so it has to be light cardio for an extended period of time, and your metabolism will get back to normal fast.

Other aproach for early morning exercise is eating first, then do High Intensity excercise. You'll get your energy from the food you just ate, but if its hardcore enough you'll end up with an accelerated metabolism and burning fat the rest of the day (assuming good nutrition, no simple carbs thru the day).