Eating well and going to the gym 4 days a week and gained weight!

10 posts | Original | Recent

Image_thumb
7 Posts
Jan 26, 2014 11:16pm
via Android

So I've been going to the gym for a month now and I'm starting to see muscle built but I've gained weight. I know that muscle weighs more than fat but I've gained 3 pounds since I started. I do a mix of aerobics for 30-45 minutes total, Abs, arms, and back but I didn't think it was possible to gain weight so quickly (I'm hoping it's muscle). Anyway, how normal is this? I've also been way more hungry since I started and I hope it won't affect my body negatively.

27 Jan
It could be that your metabolism is increasing and thats why you re getting hungry, you can try eating more times a day in smaller protions.
28 Jan
U more likely Gaines muscle not fat, thats want happens, I'm a personal trainer so I know
28 Jan
And u look fine in our pic, u don't like u need loose weight
29 Jan
Stop worrying - you look great
31 Jan
I've got the LoseIt app and I log what I weigh and eat everyday in it and it also tells me how many calories I take in and what I should be getting. It also log my workouts and subtracts calories from that.
Image_thumb
78 Posts
Jan 26, 2014 11:21pm
via Android

Increased physical activity makes me ravenous especially weight training. You say you have been eating well but are you keeping a diary of your food intake. It is so easy to think your consumption is good. Beware of low fat foods laden with sugar. I believed I was eating well until I started a food diary. 

26 Jan
I haven't been, its hard to find time for that with 3 jobs and college full time. I'm just worried. Maybe I'll download a food diary app and maybe that will be easier
Image_thumb
78 Posts
Jan 26, 2014 11:36pm
via Android

Try myfitnesspal. It can be tedious to start with but once you have the main entries you can just pick your favourites from a list. I used it religiously for a month as a baseline. It was invaluable.

Image_thumb
731 Posts