I feel like I need more reps!

5 posts | Original | Recent

Image_thumb
12 Posts
May 21, 2014 6:04pm
via iOS
I'm following a program from a trainer. He has me doing 2 sets of 12 reps.
My workouts go by too fast.
Just out of curiosity, do you think it would hurt my results if I doubled my sets?
I'm thin, trying to build mass, chest, and arms. While trying to avoid love handles;
I do resistance every other day and cardio between, with 1 or 2 days off.

I'm addicted to working out and would love to spend more time doing it.
Sample workout;
Workout 1: Chest/Back/Shoulders
Chest:
Machine chest press
Machine incline chest press
Back:
Machine seated row
Lat Pulldown
Shoulders:
Side Dumbbell raise 15
Front Dumbbell raise 10
21 May
Just try contracting your muscles brah, dont count the reps make the reps count.
21 May
I had to look up "contracting muscles while working out". I'm going to pay more attention to feeling and squeezing my muscles while working out. I'm new to this. Only two months. Thanks Demarez
Image_thumb
274 Posts
May 21, 2014 10:35pm
via Android

Concentrate more on the tempo of each rep, proper form, and complete range of motion and each set will last longer

Image_thumb
12 Posts
May 21, 2014 11:49pm
via iOS
Thanks, Jason.  I keep seeing conflicting info regarding this.  Some people say slow, steady, concentrate....  Others say FAST!
I always leave the gym feeling like doing more.
Image_thumb
274 Posts
May 22, 2014 1:08am
via Android