Expert advice needed. Calisthenics + Weightlifting

5 posts | Original | Recent

Image_thumb
19 Posts
Mar 10, 2015 11:52am
via Android

I'm currently new to calisthenics and I want it to be my main workout, but I can't seem to let go my heavy compound dumbbell exercises. Yesterday, I first did my compound exercises, then after 2 hours, I did my back/biceps calisthenics. I failed the last set(3rd set) of my calisthenics(I did a total of 108 pull ups that day) and I felt that my workout is incomplete, but I have to listen to my body.

My calisthenic sched is: Mon-Back/Biceps; Tues-Chest/Triceps; Wed-Legs; Thurs-Shoulders; and Fri-Abs.

My heavy compound sched is : Mon & Thurs. They are Bench Presses, Pull Ups, Deadlifts, & Squats.

I just want to know if I can split my heavy compound exercises and incorporate them to their corresponding target body part calisthenics.

Like for example: Calisthenic back/biceps are all different variations of pull ups so I think there's no need to do additional pull ups for my compound exercise. But, can I add bench presses during my chest/triceps calis, dumbbell squats during leg calis, and probably deadlifts during ab calis??? I separated squats and deadlifts since I think it's too much if I will do them on the same day. Will it help me maintain my current strength as if I'm doing all 4 heavy compound exercises on the same day???

My reasons why I need some advice are: 1.) I love heavy lifting, but bodyweight training is more ideal for my body type; and 2.) I don't want to have chicken legs, thus the weighted squats and deadlifts.

I'm really prone to overtraining and I think doing intense full body weighted compound exercises and an intense specific body part calisthenic on the same day is too taxing for my body. I've been there and I failed.

I want to do them both, but I only have one body. :'(

Sorry for the long post. If there's something you want to clarify, please don't hesitate to ask.