Advice for subbing exercises for a real beginner?

4 posts | Original | Recent

Image_thumb
45 Posts
Aug 27, 2015 4:06pm

Hi all, I'm really a beginner to fitness. I'm not very strong and I'm heavy and uncoordinated. I have some real self-confidence issues tied to bad experiences in phys ed in my youth which I have to push through to work out. (I'm not saying that to solicit motivation or sympathy or anything, but rather to be realistic about where I am and what I can handle at this point. I'm here because I want to move past it!)

I started the "weight loss I" program and, though it seems like a very well-put together program, I'm only on the second workout and already the moves given are unobtainable for me. I am just not capable of doing some of these things yet. Maybe in a month or two I will be able to do plank hop-outs or alternating side planks for 30 seconds (or at all) but right now it's all I can do to hold an elbow plank for 10.

Can anyone help suggesting programs, workouts or alternate move substitutions that can help build core strength that are a bit more big-person beginner friendly? I'm ready to work, but I just don't want to start out on my journey feeling like I'm failing. It would be really good if there were a category for workouts as "beginner" as lower than "casual". I like the idea of having a set program to follow, if possible.

PS I am starting some in-person classes in mid-September, and I know that will help me get some good me-appropriate workouts and will help with my confidence (I hope). But they don't start for two weeks and I'd like not to stay idle until then. :)

28 Aug
My first advise ....start jogging to improve your cardio. ...It burns fat and put you in a better condition to go further. Eat healthier, drink more water,and remember good sleep helps also ...good luck .you are a winner
29 Aug
Thanks Obinna!
29 Aug
You welcomev
Image_thumb
214 Posts
Aug 27, 2015 4:22pm
via Android