Torn ACL but love to run. Any advice?

6 posts | Original | Recent
34 Posts
May 16, 2014 7:57am

Used to run 10ks easy, now limited to 5k, some days 3 k only due to rising pain. I wear a support band under the knee as well and usually run after stretching and other workouts on workout trainer app. I also take Glucosamine/Chondroitin/MSM and another formula with Hyaloronic Acid. I know I probably should not be running so much, but it's part of my life style along with different workout programs. Anyone advice other than the usual low-impact options like swimming , elliptical? running out of ideas.

16 May
I am also a runner and can't imagine not being able to run although I'm still new to it. When I first started out, 4 weeks into training myself to run, I developed tendonitis in my left ankle. It hurt so bad I thought I had a pressure fracture. Thank gosh I didn't. Anyways I went to a physical therapist one time to figure out what I can do to keep up with my progress because I was instructed by my sports medicine doc to not run for 4 weeks. I was given certain exercises to do to strengthen my...
17 May
I took a 6 month break after the tear and for almost a year I barely did cardio ...I started slowly again, but I've never been back to normal... just wondering if there is anything anyone knows that I can do,,....apart from giving up running... =(
01 Jun
Thank you, I just ellipticals are beyond boring and I never push myself as much than when I run. But you re right, I ll try it again as an occasional substitute. I wish there was a natural supplement other than what I already take.
24 Apr
Research more with a sport orthopaedic because Anterior cruciate ligament (ACL)is a complex topic that needs professional advice. Wish you all the best .
25 Apr
Oben a thanks i have to I am fine these days - without surgery
1 Post
Jul 8, 2014 4:13am
via iOS