How to spot your weak spot in the squat?

5 posts | Original | Recent
1018 Posts
Jan 9, 2014 2:24pm
via Android

Hello ladies and gentlemen,

Its a long story, sorry! But its hard to explain.

Since there are alot of women here who are working their booty with squatting. And i keep seeing questions about it and horrible form in the gyms. I would like to help you all with spotting your own weaknesses on your body and technique. Lots of times they will be related but not always.

Let me start with saying i am not an expert on the squat. I dont squat crazy numbers and i still make technique mistakes myself. However, relentless knee problems and pretty solid ankle mobility problems, forced me to work on it to be able to squat painfree and to start working on it.

And i want to help you guys go trough that process some faster.

There are a few important 'ques'. And no knees not over the feet isnt one of them imo.

1. The squat is not an down and up motion. Its backwards and sidewards.

This means, the hips travel backwards. Not downwards. The hips are the first bodypart to move and the most important one. You have to sit in the squat. Box squats are great for this. Since you actually sit down.

- The knees dont move forward. The knees move outwards. Push the knees out trough the WHOLE movement. Dont let them come in on the way up. You want to keep ur knees outside of your feet. This while make the squat feel alot better :-)

keep the pressure on the outside and backside of your feet. Whenever you feel you are losing balance, you know there is a weakspot ;).

- The upperbody stays solid the whole time. Grab the bar when its still hanging. Lock the upperbody, push the hips some back. Look up arround 30 degrees!!! And lock this position. Pick it up and step back. Keep the same upperbody position!! Focus on keeping the head slightly up!!

- Flexibility.