Protein shakes?

14 posts | Original | Recent

Image_thumb
1 Post
Apr 2, 2013 5:11pm
via Android

Most of my friends drink protein shakes before they workout. Should I? If I do, which one am I supposed to drink?

02 Apr
Drink a glass of milk before your work out then a protein shake after or toward the end of your workout it will help woth recovery
02 Apr
R u can mix yogurt and milk with ur shake
02 Apr
Yeah! Rhe reason I say milk before is cuz it takes your body 7 hours to absorb all the protein in the milk so it will fuel your muscles as you work out!
02 Apr
Ok i know when my ex was training he would mix milk, yogurt,and his shakes before he went. I eat yogurt after but i dont use shakes
02 Apr
Its better for recovery to have a fast absorbing protein like whey instead of the diary protein from the yogurt
Funky_side_crow_thumb
289 Posts
Apr 2, 2013 5:41pm
via Android

I don't. Don't think it's necessary unless you're body building & doing the whole macro-nutrient thing. (I'm no expert in this area so just speak from experience)

02 Apr
I agree with you. I think it just giving you too much sugar. Unless you are doing long hour and intense sport its not good to drinking them. Lots of sugar and fats. Try some fruits instead :-)
Image_thumb
60 Posts
Apr 2, 2013 6:53pm
via Android

I drink whey protein shakes. I'm trying hard to eat my macros but a shake is a great way to consume around 25g of the protein I need quickly. I usually have one mixed with water or with yoghurt and blueberries at breakfast and again before my workout. If I have one late on the evening I have it with milk as the protein absorbs throughout your nights sleep.

Image_thumb
22 Posts
Apr 2, 2013 6:59pm
via iOS
Visalus is a nutritional shake mix that replaces a meal. 12g of protein in a serving. Not counting the 8-12oz glass of milk with it. If you were to drink 2% milk with it, that would be 20g of protein
Image_thumb
102 Posts
Apr 2, 2013 7:11pm
via Android