Type of protein

7 posts | Original | Recent

Image_thumb
2 Posts
Jan 10, 2015 1:49am
via Android

I'm new to working out and I want to tone and build strength. I know nothing about supplements so I'm hoping someone can recommend a brand or type of protein powder I can use. Don't know if I should be taking it before or after my workout so I could use help with that too.

10 Jan
Clif bar makes a good post run/endurance run powder. The chocolate is tasty
11 Jan
Protien is good for post work out muscle recovery and also for day to day weight lose cause it makes you feel more full and passes through you quickly cause your body can't absorb it. I'd also suggest going to bodybuilding.com and doing some reading they offer starter packs for beginners. Also another tip when buying protien. Don't go buy the bug tubs cause they are cheaper. I'd buy the smaller the better and a few different flavors in case you don't like one or the other. Then purchase the one you like.
12 Jan
See the comments prove my point...fools and money are soon parted :-)
Image_thumb
52 Posts
Jan 10, 2015 2:26am
via Android

GNC has good protein. Muscletech is good and can be found at Sam's Club. You can buy protein blends with added supplements like creatine and glutamine.  GNC has a pretty user friendly packaging. Little pictures of a lightning bolt for power, flexed arm for strength, stopwatch for recovery etc... Otherwise protein is protein. I was taking protein with creatine before workout and protein with glutamine after and on rest days but now I just used 100% whey protein. Figure I can push myself without the creatine and rest properly to ward off injury and the need for glutamine.  Good luck.

Image_thumb
1 Post
Jan 10, 2015 2:44am
via iOS
Go to bodybuilding.com to find a variety of protein. Fast shipping and way cheaper than GNC. Whey protein is good to take right after a workout.
10 Jan
gnc is so ridiculous with their prices... Bodybuilding.com all the time
Image_thumb
33 Posts