Calories-The devil on my shoulder

6 posts | Original | Recent

Image_thumb
5 Posts
May 22, 2015 7:04am
via Android

I am new to a healthy lifestyle. People usually give up within the first few weeks because they aren't seeing results. I think there are so many factors to manage and if improperly managed, your body will not produce results.

If I stay under 1500 calories a day, will I lose weight? When would a person need to start working out before hitting the plateau on just dieting?

22 May
Also 1500 cal a day is ok if not exercising, but if you do then make it 1600-1800 otherwise your body will go into starvation mode and weight loss will stop, happened to me recently.
22 May
Everytime I start an exercise plan, that happens to me. Then I just give up. Now, I want to understand what's happening and figure out how to overcome each plateau. I'm not giving up this time :)
Image_thumb
14 Posts
May 22, 2015 9:33am
via iOS
Hey, i may be wrong but in my experience just dieting alone only works for the first week or so. This is because your body will quickly get used to your new diet, your body can adjust pretty quickly and you will stop losing. The only way to get over that is to either restrict calories more (bad idea) or workout harder. If i was dieting alone i would need to eat well and under 1000 calories to lose weight and that's just not healthy. So my advice, start with some casual exercise now and ramp it up each time you plateau. Good luck 
22 May
Awesome advice. That's kinda what I was thinking but I'm still pretty inexperienced. I appreciate the feed back. I need it!!
Image_thumb
1655 Posts
May 22, 2015 12:11pm
via iOS
WANT TO LOSE OR GAIN WEIGHT: READ THIS!!!

These topics will help you understand how to cut weight in a healthy way 
Image_thumb
51 Posts
May 22, 2015 2:30pm
via Android