Protien powders and other supplements

4 posts | Original | Recent

Image_thumb
69 Posts
Feb 6, 2017 6:06pm
via Android

Yesterday Costco had some samples and i tried a protien powder called VEGA protien and greens (vanilla). They had it mixed with almond milk. Compared to the only protien powder i have had (bodyfortress ) i thought it tasted great! (Reminded me of cereal milk) I'm new to the world of protein powders and supplements. So I'd really like some input on this.

Is one kind better than another? (Whey, plant based, whatever else there is)
By better i mean what you get out if it.
Flavor obviously helps but even i learned with the crap i bought at Walmart that i can add bananas and other things to give it good flavor.

I keep seeing things like preworkout, and recovery, and meal replacement ect.. Do i need to worry about these? Or are these companies just trying to squeeze more $$ out of people lol.

I am trying to keep added sugars and unnecessary fat at a minimum other than what i get from real food. (Meats/fruit/veggies) i am also trying to cut out gluten best i can. It bloats me so bad.

I'm probably over thinking it and to be honest I'm a bit intimidated to walk into a supplement store and ask. I would kind of like to know what they are trying to sell me.

Any info is greatly appreciated!!

07 Feb
Hey Nikki! I just wanted to say that it all depends on your goals. People use them to increase muscle mass, improve overall body composition and help meet their protein needs. So 'Whey isolate' is quickly digested, providing a rapid rise in amino acids that may help increase muscle mass and strength. It may also reduce appetite and promote fat loss. On the other hand you have Casein protein is a slow-digesting dairy protein that may reduce muscle protein breakdown and promote muscle mass growth and fat loss during calorie restriction. And then Egg white protein contains high-quality protein that...
Image_thumb
1047 Posts
Feb 7, 2017 12:11pm
via Android